Noodle Tools - Research, Citation and Note-makingVideo Tutorial - MLA CitationCiting images in MLA
This is the "General Info" page of the "Film Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Studies   Tags: diploma, film, film studies, ib  

Resources for DP film - with acknowledgment to Jeri Hurd, Western Academy of Beijing
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2015 URL: http://qatar.islschools.libguides.com/film Print Guide RSS Updates

General Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Suggested Library Titles

Cover Art
All about Techniques in Drawing for Animation Production - Sergi Càmara
ISBN: 0764159194
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Illustrated instructions describe the basic fundamentals of cartoon drawing and animation techniques including creating a storyboard, constructing characters, and background layout.

Writing about movies - Karen M. Gocsik, Richard M. Barsam.
Call Number: 777 BAR SEC
ISBN: 9780393935097
Publication Date: 2007
What is academic writing? -- Kinds of film papers -- The process of writing about movies -- Revising: Cultivating a critical eye.

Cover Art
The Visual Story: creating the structure of film, television, and visual media - Bruce Block
ISBN: 9780240807799
Publication Date: 2007-10-24
Offers a view of the relationship between the story/script structure and the visual structure of a film, video, animated piece, or video game. This book helps to learn how to structure your visuals as carefully as a writer structures a story or a composer structures music. It reveals the relationship between story structure and visual structure.

Cover Art
Visual Storytelling: videography and post production in the digital age - Ronald J. Osgood; M. Joseph Hinshaw
Call Number: 778.59 OSG Sec
ISBN: 0534637922
Publication Date: 2008-01-21
A guide to single-camera field production and postproduction that covers aesthetics, concepts, and techniques, and includes learning tools, real-life stories, tips from professionals, and a DVD.

Cover Art
The Declaration of Independent Filmmaking - Mark Polish; Michael Polish; Jonathan Sheldon
Call Number: 791.4 POL Sec
ISBN: 9780156029520
Publication Date: 2005-10-17
Presents a guide to independent filmmaking, chronicling the process of making a movie outside of the Hollywood system, from an idea to the finished product.

Cover Art
After the Avant-Garde - Randall Halle (Editor); Reinhild Steingröver (Editor)
Call Number: 791.43 AFT SEC
ISBN: 1571133658
Publication Date: 2008-12-02
A collection of essays on the experimental film movement in German-speaking Europe that examines the history of avant-garde filmmaking and the effects of new technologies on contemporary production.

Cover Art
Looking at Movies - an Introduction to Film - Richard Barsam; David Monahan
ISBN: 9780393932799
Publication Date: 2009-10-01

Cover Art
Film - Ronald Bergan
ISBN: 0756622034
Publication Date: 2006-10-16
An illustrated overview of the world of film that covers cinematic history; the movie-making process; movie genres; and film in more than twenty countries and regions; and includes alphabetized profiles of two hundred directors from around the world and a chronological guide to one hundred influential movies.

Cover Art
Captain Corelli's Mandolin - Steve Clark; Louis de Bernières (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0747237700
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Presents photos from the film adaptation of the novel "Captain Corelli's Mandolin," describes the making of the film, and discusses the massacre of ten thousand Italian soldiers on the Greek island of Cephallonia by the Germans during World War II.

Cover Art
100 Silent Films - Bryony Dixon
ISBN: 9781844573080
Publication Date: 2011-08-16
A history of silent cinema through one hundred films, including "The Birth of a Nation," "The General," "Metropolis," and "Sunrise."

Cover Art
The Documentary Film Makers Handbook - Genevieve Jolliffe; Andrew Zinnes
ISBN: 9781441183675
Publication Date: 2012-05-10
This text features interviews with industry professionals on subjects as diverse as interview technique, the NBC News Archive, music rights, setting up your own company, pitching your proposal, camera hire, the British Film Council, editing and distribution. It also includes in-depth case studies of successful documentary films.

Cover Art
Film Directing Shot by Shot - Steven Katz
ISBN: 0941188108
Publication Date: 1991-07-31
Presents detailed descriptions of visual techniques and their stylistic implications for film and videomakers, discussing visualization tools, storyboard style, staging dialogue scenes, camera techniques, composition and framing techniques, and other related topics.

Cover Art
Acting in Film - Michael Caine; Maria Aitken (Editor)
ISBN: 1557832773
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Actor Michael Caine reveals his secrets of the art and science of spontaneity on the screen and includes a collection of black-and-white photographs showing Caine and other actors in some of his more popular films.

Cover Art
130 Projects to Get You into Film Making - Elliot Grove
ISBN: 9780764142963
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
A complete introductory course covering the skills and techniques for writing, producing, directing, and marketing a film. Includes 130 film making projects.

Cover Art
The Art of Charlie Chaplin - Kyp Harness
ISBN: 9780786431939
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Chronicles the career of screen legend Charlie Chaplin, discussing his films from 1914 to 1967, analyzing each for social commentary, and looking at Chaplin's alter-ego--the Tramp.

Cover Art
How to Analyze the Films of George Lucas - Valerie Bodden
ISBN: 1617876364
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
eBook - Explains how to use critical theory to analyze the films of George Lucas, and provides overviews of movies directed by him as well as critiques of each.

Contents: Introduction to critiques -- A closer look at George Lucas -- An overview of Star wars: episode IV a new hope -- How to apply historical criticism to Star wars: episode IV a new hope -- An overview of Star wars: episode I The phantom menace -- How to apply feminist criticism to Star wars: episode I The phantom menace -- An overview of Star wars: episode II Attack of the clones -- How to apply new criticism to Star wars: episode II Attack of the clones -- An overview of Star wars: episode III Revenge of the Sith -- How to apply moral criticism to Star wars: episode III Revenge of the Sith -- You critique it.

Cover Art
Ethics of Star Trek - Judith Barad; Ed Robertson
ISBN: 0060933267
Publication Date: 2001-11-27
Discusses the ethics employed in the world of the television series "Star Trek" and its three spin-off series, asking questions based on the tenets of major philosophers such as Kant and Nietzsche.

Cover Art
How to Analyze the Films of Tim Burton - Sun Hee Teresa Lee
ISBN: 1617876380
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
eBook - Explains how to use critical theory to analyze the films of Tim Burton, and provides overviews of movies directed by him as well as critiques of each.

Contents: Introduction to critiques -- A closer look at Tim Burton -- An overview of Batman -- How to apply cultural criticism to Batman -- An overview of Edward Scissorhands -- How to apply biographical criticism to Edward Scissorhands -- An overview of Sweeney Todd -- How to apply Marxist criticism to Sweeney Todd -- Overview of Alice in wonderland -- How to apply feminist criticism to Alice in wonderland -- You critique it.

Cover Art
How to Analyze the Films of James Cameron - Susan E. Hamen
ISBN: 1617876372
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
eBook - Explains how to use critical theory to analyze the films of James Cameron, and provides overviews of movies directed by him as well as critiques of each.

Cover Art
Cut by Cut: Editing your film or video - Gael Chandler
ISBN: 1615930906
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
A guide to film and video editing that is suitable for all levels of experience, discussing setting up and organizing a project, how to approach footage, making cuts, sound, music, and finishing and delivering a project.

 

Film Journal Search Engine

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip