This is the "OA resources" page of the "Open Access Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Open Access Resources  

Information about Open Access Resources, links, suggestions and some warnings. The framework and some of the information in this guide is based on a copy of the Open Access Guide created by Dalhousie University Libraries, with permission.
Last Updated: May 21, 2017 URL: http://qatar.islschools.libguides.com/openaccess Print Guide RSS Updates

OA resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Qatar Digital Library

The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is making a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online for the first time. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.

 Qatar Digital Library

 

 

Open Culture

What is Open Culture’s Mission?

Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Web 2.0 has given us great amounts of intelligent audio and video. It’s all free. It’s all enriching. But it’s also scattered across the web, and not easy to find. Our whole mission is to centralize this content, curate it, and give you access to this high quality content whenever and wherever you want it. Some of our major resource collections include:

Free Educational Videos For Filmmakers

UNESCO

  • UNESCO Open Educational Resources
    UNESCO believes that universal access to high quality education is key to the building of peace, sustainable social and economic development, and intercultural dialogue. Open Educational Resources (OER) provide a strategic opportunity to improve the quality of education as well as facilitate policy dialogue, knowledge sharing and capacity building.

    Open Educational Resources are teaching, learning or research materials that are in the public domain or released with an intellectual property license that allows for free use, adaptation, and distribution.

    In 2001, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), in an unprecedented move, announced the release of nearly all its courses on the internet for free access. As the number of institutions offering free or open courseware increased, UNESCO organized the 1st Global OER Forum in 2002 where the term Open Educational Resources (OER) was adopted.

The Hewlett Foundation

  • Open Education Resources from the Hewlett Foundation
    Since 2002, the Hewlett Foundation has worked with OER grantees to improve education globally by making high-quality academic materials openly available on the Internet. The Education Program continues to work toward establishing a self-sustaining and adaptive global OER ecosystem and demonstrating its potential to improve teaching and learning.

Open Education Resources (OER)

 

Open Education Logo

OER Logo 2012 J. Mello,used under a Creative Commons license CC-BY

 

Acknowledgement

The framework and some of the information in this guide is based on a copy of the Open Access Guide created by Dalhousie University Libraries, with permission from Geoff Brown and Sarah Stevenson.

QScience - Qatar Foundation/Bloomsbury

  • QSCIENCE.COM
    QScience.com is the innovative and collaborative, peer-reviewed, online publishing platform from Bloomsbury Qatar Foundation Journals (BQFJ). It offers a fast and transparent Open Access scholarly publishing process, which is centered on the author, bringing their research to a global audience.

JSTOR Open Access eBooks

  • JSTOR eBooks
    JSTOR offers a growing list of Open Access ebooks from respected presses, such as University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, and ANU Press. More than 500 titles are now available at no cost to libraries or users.

Internet Archive

  • Internet Archive
    Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.

Open Education Resources

Open Access Journals, Books and Posters

  • DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
    DOAJ is a database of over 6300 peer-reviewed, open access journals from around the world. Over 2500 of these journals can be searched at the article level from the DOAJ search box.
  • JURN
    JURN searches hundreds of free scholarly ejournals in the arts & humanities.
  • J-Stage
    Provides access to hundreds of journals published in Japan. Although primarily related to science, medicine and engineering, many journals in the humanities and social sciences are also represented, along with dozens of conference proceedings.
  • BASE
    BASE is a multi-disciplinary search engine which harvests open access content from over 2000 repositories. It includes articles, books, theses, reports, data and multimedia items.
  • PubMed Central
    "The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature."
  • PLoS (Public Library of Science)
    PLoS, a non-profit organization founded by a group of biomedical scientists, currently publishes seven open access biomedical journals, six of which are ranked for impact factor by ISI's Journal Citation Reports.
  • BioMed Central (BMC)
    A commercial publisher which produces about 200 open access journals, over 20 of which are ranked for impact factor by ISI's Journal Citation Reports.
  • List of Articles by Dalhousie Researchers Published in BMC Journals
  • Directory of Open Access Books (doab)
    A searchable index for "peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license".
  • F1000 Posters
    An open access resource which includes posters from leading biology & medicine conferences. F1000 can serve as a means of alerting you to research being conducted on a topic related to your own. It may also serve as a bank of posters which you can use to identify effective layout and design for your posters.
    Please note:
    “...most posters on this site present work that is preliminary in nature and has not been peer reviewed.”
  • JSTOR Open Access
    JSTOR offers a growing list of Open Access ebooks from respected presses, such as University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, and ANU Press. More than 500 titles are now available at no cost to libraries or users.

OAIster

OAIster is a database that gathers together information about freely available electronic documents and resources. It scans the internet to find freely available items that conform to a particular Open Archives Initiative (OAI) protocol.

OAIster can harvest key bibliographic information from these freely available resources and then use this information to point you towards the resources when you do a search on OAIster.

What will you find on OAIster?

  • Theses
  • Journal articles
  • Preprints
  • Book chapters
  • Conference proceedings

Where does OAIster find these items?

OAIster captures information from institutional repositories and from open access journals.

Take note: Some items are peer-reviewed, while others are not.

Nanodegree Programs

 

United Nations Digital Library Syatem

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip